Debatosh Guha is a Professor and Head of the Institute of Radio Physics and Electronics, University of Calcutta, India. He is now the Director of the Centre for Research in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (CRNN), University of Calcutta. He is associated with the Department of Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineering of the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, and served as HAL Chair Professor in 2015-2016.


He received the B.Tech and M.Tech degrees from the University of Calcutta in 1987 and 1989, respectively and started his career as an Engineer in Webel Telecommunication Industries Limited. After graduating with a Ph.D. in microwave engineering from Calcutta University, he joined the same University as an Assistant Professor in 1994. He spent about 2 years with the Royal Military College of Canada, Kingston, Ontario as Visiting Research Professor working largely on the developments of various low profile microwave and wireless antennas. 

He has researched in developing microstrips and dielectric resonator antenna technologies. Defected Ground Structure (DGS) -integrated antenna is one of his major areas of contribution. He has published over 200 papers in top Journals and Conferences along with a Book entitled ‘Microstrip and Printed Antennas: New Trends, Techniques and Applications’ from Wiley, UK, 2011. He developed wireless base-station antennas for a North American industry, which have been a commercial product (Z1900) since 2007.

Professor Guha is Fellow of IEEE , Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), The National Academy of Sciences, Indian (NASI), and West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology (WAST). He is a recipient of some notable awards which include IETE Ram Lal Wadhwa Award (New Delhi 2016),  IEEE AP-S Raj Mittra Travel Grant Award (Chicago 2012); URSI Young Scientist Award (Lille, Franc1996)  and Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund Prize (India, 1984).


He is an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on  Antennas and Propagationand IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Lettersand a Section Editor of INAE Letters. He has served IEEE Kolkata Section as the Chair (2013-2014) and Vice-Chair (2011-2012); IEEE AP-MTT Kolkata Chapter as the Founding Chair (2004), Vice-Chair (2007-2009), and Chair (2010-2011). He conceptualized and initiated two IEEE sponsored flagship conferences in India: IEEE Applied Electromagnetics Conference AEMC   (biennial) in 2007 and IEEE Indian Antenna Week IAW (annual) in 2010 and has been instrumental in earning the credibility of both the events over the last 10 years.

His current research interests include DGS for advanced antenna design, unresolved issues of microstrip antenna design, exploring unconventional modes for Dielectric Resonator Antenna (DRA) designs, wideband and ultrawideband low profile DRAs, and high gain antennas for the wireless industry.